Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:24 a.m. - 2006-04-10
to those who love me
So in a matter of 4 days, I'll offically be 28 years old.
How in the hell did I get so old? Where has the time gone? I remember a time when I couldn't imagine being older than 21.... and now.. now I'm 2 years away from being 30.

As I approach my 28th year on the planet, my 10 year high school reunion and the purchase of my first home, a lot of emotions are going through me..... BUT in classical Melinda style, I'm going to take the focus off of me and instead focus on the people who have been my saving grace and have been helping me get through my life.

I'm going to focus on my friends, because we all know that I worship my parents and that without them not only would I not exsist, but I wouldn't be the person I am. I am truly blessed...my sisters are totally extensions of myself and though we all fight all the time I know that no matter what we have each other's back and we will do anything for each other.

Jamey - What can I say but I love her? She and I have been through so much shit together, I can't even begin to list it all. We became friends at the tender age of 16 and now almost 12 years later we're still side by side... still laughing at really stupid things, still totally connected and still as close as we can be. Going out with her the past couple of months on the weekends have been amazingly fun. WE've discovered that we love tequilla, that we don't need anyone else to amuse us but ourselves, and that having ppl knock into your table and spilling yoru drinks equals free drinks! ;)
I'm so happy that she and Eddie bought a house so close to work 'cause it means that like what... 3 days a week or so I get to go over and hang out with her on the porch and talk and spend time with her kids.... her kids who I love more than anything and who I would do anything for. You know I told her once that if anything ever happened, I would take them in a heartbeat... and I don't know how seriously she believed me... but I would. I could and I would. Jamey is just the best. I seriously don't know what I would do without her.

Adam- Adam is the ying to my yang, the naughty to my good... he is such an amazing man, and I feel so blessed to have been able to become friends with him. I know ppl don't always get us, but we do and that's all that matters.... he's helped me so much, and not just in things like driving back from cali with me.. but such emotional situations, like driving back from cali with me after I had to leave Brian. I adore him and I am so proud to call him my friend. I know that whoever he marries will be such a lucky girl, because regardless of his wild/naughty streak, he has a heart of gold, and a soul that is sweet and kind and caring.

Andy- Andy is me in male form. Who else can understand me better than him? Who else can I be totally crazy around and not be judged? Who can I cry to and laugh with and love? Our friendship started in such a silly way (through his website), and yet it's survived since 1997.... and for that I am so thankful. I am so lucky to have found his friendship and I feel so secure in knowing that he is only a phone call away.

Last person for tonight is James.
Surprised?
Even though we aren't together anymore, I still care deeply for him. Even though he's not my 'boyfriend' I know that I can always call him and he'll be there for me. He was the person that was there for me when my Gpa died. We had only been dating for a week when I was gonig to St.PEte everyday... and he would send me off with a kiss, a starbucks frap and then welcome me home with a hug, a cozy bed and kisses each night. He loved me, and he was really the first man to show me that love. We experienced amazing things together and he allowed me to see a side of himself that he doesn't show many people, and for that I feel very lucky. We're in that akward phase of transiting from lovers to friends... but I know that we'll get there in time...


I love you all.. and I'll continue throughout this week to thank those who mean the most to me and who without I wouldn't survive.

xoxo - Melinda Joy

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!